Guides

Paid links are marked. How this works

Best portable power stations for US homes, appraised (October 2026)

October sale prices have pulled 1kWh and 2kWh stations into two clear bands. Here is how to size one for a real outage, and which of the dated deals hold up.

Research-based. I haven’t used or tested these products myself. How I appraise

These prices were checked up to Oct 1, 2026 and may have changed. Check the retailer before you buy.

The short appraisal

  • For most homes riding out a short outage: a roughly 1kWh station in the $400 to $500 band. On Oct 7 that shelf held the DJI Power 1000 V2 ($399.98), the BLUETTI AC180 ($424), the Anker SOLIX C1000 ($469.99), the Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 (under $500) and the Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 ($499.99).
  • For longer outages or a fridge you can’t lose: the 2kWh class, now spread from about $800 to $900: EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max ($799) and BLUETTI Elite 200 V2 ($798.99) at the bottom, Jackery Explorer 2000 ($849) in the middle, Anker SOLIX C2000 Gen 2 ($899.99 on Oct 1; not re-read) at the top.
  • Not for US buyers yet: the DJI Power 1000 Mini. It has good reviews, but it wasn’t on US sale when it was reviewed.

Who should skip

  • The DJI Power 1000 Mini, for now. It wasn’t on US sale when it was reviewed.
  • A 2kWh box if you can’t lift about 40 pounds. The Anker C2000 Gen 2 weighs 41.7.
  • Wiring a station into a home circuit yourself. That’s a job for a licensed electrician and a transfer switch.

Where to buy

Bob Vila’s prices are Amazon’s, read on Oct 7; that page updates in place, so it may differ from the dates I quote. The EcoFlow price is also on EcoFlow’s own store. The Anker C2000 Gen 2 price is 9to5Toys’s from Oct 1; Anker’s page showed me no price on Oct 7.

A power station is a battery, an inverter and a handful of outlets in a box with a handle. The box is the easy part. What you’re really buying is two numbers, and most product pages put the more flattering one first.

First, size it: the tank and the tap

Watt-hours (Wh) are the tank. They tell you how much energy is stored. Watts (W) are the tap. They tell you how much the inverter can deliver at once. A station with a huge tank and a small tap can run a router for days and still trip the moment a microwave starts.

Look at two output figures, not one. Bob Vila’s October roundup puts it plainly: check both the station’s continuous output and its surge rating, because motors need extra power when they start (Bob Vila, Oct 2). Fridges, sump pumps and well pumps are motors.

For runtime, the same guide gives the math I use: divide battery watt-hours by the device’s wattage. A 1,000Wh station feeding a steady 10-watt router works out to about 100 hours, roughly four days, before conversion losses and the station’s own idle draw shorten it (Bob Vila). Real life is never the clean number. Treat the result as a ceiling.

Manufacturers publish their own appliance claims, and they’re useful as long as you remember who wrote them. Anker says the SOLIX C2000 Gen 2 idles at only 9W and can run a dual-door fridge for up to 32 hours, or up to 64 hours with its BP2000 expansion battery (9to5Toys, quoting Anker’s feature list). That’s a brand claim, not a measurement I made, and your fridge isn’t Anker’s fridge.

A quick way to choose a size:

  1. List what must stay on: fridge, router, phones, CPAP, a lamp, maybe a sump pump.
  2. Add their running watts and confirm the station’s continuous output covers the total, with surge headroom for anything that has a motor.
  3. Multiply the daily watt-hours by the number of days you want to cover. That’s your tank.
  4. If the answer is above about 2kWh, look at expandable models or whole-home systems instead of buying two boxes.

The 1kWh shelf: the one most homes need

This is where the October prices are the most interesting, because four brands are within about $100 of each other.

Model Capacity Dated price Source
DJI Power 1000 V2 1,024Wh $399.98 (was $449.99) Bob Vila, Oct 7
BLUETTI AC180 1,152Wh $424 on Oct 7 ($449 on Oct 2) Bob Vila, Oct 7
Anker SOLIX C1000 1,024Wh $469.99 on Oct 7 ($499.99 on Oct 2) Bob Vila, Oct 7
Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 not stated in source under $500, a 30-day low, Sept 26 NY Post via Jingletree
Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 not stated in source $499.99, Oct 1 9to5Toys, Oct 1

What separates them is mostly the stuff around the battery:

  • Jackery Explorer 1000 v2: 1,500W AC output with a 3,000W surge peak, three AC outlets, two 100W USB-C ports, one USB-A and a 12V car port, and a weight of 24 pounds. Jackery quotes a 1.7-hour wall charge, about an hour in its Emergency Super Charge mode under its own test conditions, and up to 400W of solar input. Warranty is three years, extendable to five if you register online (NY Post via Jingletree).
  • Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2: the compact sibling of the C2000 Gen 2. 9to5Toys notes it does not offer the expandability the C2000 Gen 2 has, which matters if you think you’ll want more capacity later (9to5Toys).
  • DJI Power 1000 V2 and BLUETTI AC180: the lowest prices on this shelf by the Bob Vila list, and the AC180 dropped another $25 between Oct 2 and Oct 7. If the specs fit your list from step 1, the cheapest box that clears your continuous-watt number is a perfectly sane buy.

My read: on this shelf, price differences are small enough that ports and weight should decide. A 24-pound box you can carry up from the basement is worth more than 10% more capacity you have to drag.

The 2kWh shelf: when the outage lasts

In the first days of October four 2kWh-class stations sat within $20 of each other. By Oct 7 the shelf had split: two at about $800, one at $850, and the Anker at $900 on its last readable date.

Model Capacity Output Dated price
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max 2,048Wh 2,400W continuous $799 on Oct 7 (was $1,199); $879 on Oct 2
BLUETTI Elite 200 V2 2,073Wh not stated in source $798.99 on Oct 7 (was $1,199); $899 on Oct 2
Jackery Explorer 2000 2,042Wh not stated in source $849 on Oct 7 (was $999); $898.99 on Oct 2
Anker SOLIX C2000 Gen 2 2,048Wh 2,400W rated, 4,000W peak $899.99 on Oct 1; not readable on Oct 7

Prices from Bob Vila’s list, read Oct 7, EcoFlow’s store and 9to5Toys. Bob Vila updates that page in place, so the figures there will keep moving.

The Anker has the clearest expansion story. Its 2,048Wh LiFePO4 battery can be taken to about 4kWh with the BP2000 expansion battery, it has a TT-30R socket for RV use, accepts up to 800W of solar, and weighs 41.7 pounds, all per Anker’s own page. The AC outlet count is less clear: 9to5Toys says 11 outputs with five AC, Anker’s US page did not state the count plainly to my reader, and Anker’s Singapore listing calls the unit “9-port”. Count the outlets on the listing before you buy for them. Anker lists a 58-minute full recharge from the wall; that’s a brand figure.

On price, 9to5Toys reported $899.99 on Oct 1 and said the unit had mostly sat at $1,000 since July with dips to $950. The same article says it has gone lower before, and deal threads list past prices down to about $680, so $899.99 is a good October price, not a record. Neither Anker’s page nor Amazon’s showed me a live price on Oct 7.

The 9to5Toys writer mentions personal use of the unit in a hands-on review. That’s their experience, not mine, and I’m quoting it only for the price history.

My read: at this level, expandability and the TT-30R port are the real differentiators. If you camp in an RV, the TT-30R matters. If you might add capacity later, choose a model that takes an expansion battery rather than buying a second station.

Beyond 3kWh: a different kind of purchase

The same Bob Vila list, read Oct 7, includes the BLUETTI Elite 300 (3,014Wh) at $999.99 (down from $1,098.99 on Oct 2), the Jackery HomePower 3000 (3,072Wh) at $1,269 (down from $1,349), and the Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus (3,840Wh) at $2,399.99 (Bob Vila).

At this size you’re not buying a camping battery. You’re buying partial home backup. If you plan to feed a home circuit instead of plugging appliances straight into the station, that’s a job for a licensed electrician and a proper transfer switch, not an extension cord through a window.

What reviewers and the fine print flag

  • Solar is slower in winter. Shorter days and a lower sun angle can make a full solar recharge take longer than the advertised time, which is measured in ideal conditions (Bob Vila).
  • Fast-charge figures are lab figures. Jackery’s one-hour charge is “under the brand’s test conditions” (Jingletree). Read every charge-time claim that way.
  • Weight jumps fast. 24 pounds for the Jackery 1000 v2 against 41.7 pounds for the Anker C2000 Gen 2. Lift test before you buy, at least in your head.
  • Sale prices have countdowns. Prime Big Deal Days was scheduled for October 6 and 7 (Amazon), and individual deals can end sooner.

Skip for now: DJI Power 1000 Mini

The DJI Power 1000 Mini (1,008Wh) has been reviewed well, at a UK price of £499. The same review listed the US price as “to be confirmed”, and it wasn’t sold in the US at review time (Trusted Reviews; that page could not be re-read on Oct 7, so this rests on my first reading). Don’t import one hoping for warranty support. If you like DJI’s approach, the DJI Power 1000 V2 above is actually on US shelves.

The saraf’s checklist

  1. Continuous watts cover everything you’ll run at once, with surge headroom for motors.
  2. Watt-hours cover your days, after you shave the clean number for losses.
  3. The ports match your gear: count AC outlets, USB-C wattage, and TT-30R if you have an RV.
  4. You can lift it.
  5. The price is dated and recent. Every figure above carries the day I read it, between October 1 and 7, 2026, and the Anker figure is the only one I could not re-read.

Sources